Hazardous Location Lighting Guide

What is Hazardous Location Lighting?

In the commercial lighting industry, “hazardous locations” are defined as areas that are at risk of fire or explosion due to the combined presence of electrical equipment and flammable gases or vapors, flammable liquids, combustible dusts, ignitable fibers, or other substances.  These locations are found in a range of industries, from chemical plants, oil/gas refineries, marine venues, and mining sites to other manufacturing/industrial applications involving high temperatures, combustible materials, etc.  In all cases, lighting specifically designed for these conditions is critical and required for the safety and security of both people and property.

Hazardous Location Lighting Classifications

To ensure that lighting fixtures are appropriately used within such settings, both the U.S.-based National Electric Code (NEC) and the Canadian equivalent, the CEC, have adopted standards which classify risk levels for hazardous location lighting.

These standards are first categorized into three broad classifications based on what is present in the environment:

  • Class I: locations where flammable gases/vapors are present in quantities that can ignite if they come into contact with open flames or electrical sparks
  • Class II: locations where combustible dusts are present
  • Class III: locations where ignitable fibers are present


Within each of these three classifications, hazardous lighting locations are further broken down into two divisions based on the level of exposure of the hazardous material. For example: 

  • Division 1: ignitable elements are present regularly or at periodic times during normal operations, or they may be released with any regular maintenance or equipment malfunction
  • Division 2: ignitable elements are present, but are contained and controlled with positive ventilation and other systems


As it relates to standards for hazardous location lighting, The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requires that lighting fixtures for each classification and division be further categorized into one of seven groups (A-G) based on the types, characteristics, and concentrations of materials that may be present.  Specifically:

  • Class I groups are gases designated with the letters A through D. Group A gases generate
    the highest explosive pressures (acetylene) and group D gases generate the lowest (propane).
  • Class II groups are dusts designated with the letters E through G. Group E contains conductive or metal dusts like magnesium; group F contains carbonaceous dusts, such as coal; and group G contains non-conductive dusts including grain, wood, and plastic.


Risks of not using Hazardous LED Lighting

Lighting that’s improperly matched to its hazardous location classification not only puts a company in danger of being non-compliant with NEC/CEC, NFPA, or OSHA standards, but also can result in catastrophic damage to people and property.  

In compliance with industry standards, Litetronics’ LED Hazardous Location High Bay is suitable for many hazardous settings.  Approved for Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C, and D environments, the fixture protects against possible power surges and sparks by securing all wiring within.  Corrosion-resistant with tempered glass for added durability, Litetronics’ LED Hazardous Location High Bay is also IP66-rated to protect against the intrusion of dust, heavy seas, or powerful jets of water.  The fixture further delivers the utmost in energy efficiency, ensuring bright, cost-saving, and low-maintenance lighting that will support your high-hazard operations for years to come.

So don’t skimp on safety or standards – deactivate the threat of danger in your facility with LED Hazardous Location High Bays from Litetronics.  For more information, contact us today!